News Flash

Wayne Conservation District

Posted on: March 27, 2019

Farm Service Agency Loans Available for 2018 Flood Losses

Under developed stalks of corn growing in a soggy field.

PENNSYLVANIA -- US Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 33 Pennsylvania counties as primary natural disaster areas. While Wayne County has not been named as one of them, producers are also eligible to apply for emergency loans in Wayne and the other contiguous Pennsylvania counties, as well as those in neighboring New York, New Jersey, Maryland Ohio and West Virginia.

Producers who suffered losses caused by excessive rain, flash flooding and flooding that occurred on or after July 21, 2018, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

The counties in the primary damaged area include Adams, Blair, Cambria, Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Lancaster, Lebanon, Luzerne, Lycoming, McKean, Northampton, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Susquehanna, Washington, Westmoreland, Wyoming and York.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Other contiguous Pennsylvania counties incluude Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Berks, Bradford, Bucks, Carbon, Chester, Clarion, Cumberland, Dauphin, Forest, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lehigh, Mercer, Mifflin, Monroe, Montour, Northumberland, Perry, Sullivan, Tioga, Union, Venango, Warren and Wayne

Also farms in Allegany, Baltimore, Carroll, Cecil, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, and Washington counties in Maryland; Warren County, New Jersey; Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Steuben and Tioga counties in New York; Ashtabula and Trumbull counties in Ohio; and Brooke, Hancock, Marshall, Monongalia, Ohio, Preston, and Wetzel counties in West Virginia may qualify.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Nov. 20, 2019.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock,Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Wayne Conservation District